Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Standard

Today I’m taking a few minutes to respond to the daily promptYou need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally? 

It’s funny because I feel like my life is on the brink of a big change comprised of littler changes. I’ve been wanting to do a blog post filled with my scattered thoughts about future plans…which are still unknown and undecided. My current position is done July 31, and after that I have no idea where I’ll be or what I’ll be doing.

I could keep it simple and say, “oh, I’ll stay in Durham and find another job and continue living at home until I can establish myself financially and move into an apartment.” It’s what most people my age would say, right?

Or I could keep it honest and say, “I want to be somewhere different- outside of my comfort zone doing something I love, building relationships with people I’ve never met before, exploring the world and being a light.”

I welcome change. I don’t want to be someone who is always inside their comfort zone and not doing anything big with their life… I long to live outside the walls of normalcy and let God lead me where He wants, regardless of if it’s somewhere I want to go or something I want to do. I want to live a big life. Of course I don’t yet know what that “big life” looks like, but I guess I have ample time to find out.

Personally, I prefer to make a major change all at once. Drawing out the process only makes the reality of change more painful, although it does prolong the suspense which can sometimes be a good thing!

When I think back on changes that have taken place in my life, it seems as if they all happened quickly- making the change to homeschooling my junior year of high school (my friends didn’t know until the first day of school), changing my mind about not transferring to another college (a college that had a Spanish major!), making a vocational change last summer (seriously, that one was a doozy it happened so quickly!)

I like changes to occur at a lightening pace, which I guess is why I’m procrastinating on deciding what my life will look like after July 31!

How do you prefer changes to take place in your life?

blog signature

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes … turn and face the … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: Letting It Go – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Passion for Literacy « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

