Today

Standard

Hi! How’s it going?

I am OFF work today! It’s a miracle. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, but an unexpected day off is super nice! (As an AmeriCorps member, I only get a handful of days off work!) And actually I’ll be checking our volunteer inquiry emails over the next few days so I guess that’s considered work…

I slept late this morning… until 7:45… and ahh it felt so good. I made a few Cinnamon & Spice Pumpkin pancakes and a fried egg, along with a cup of coffee. Great start to my morning, right? Now I’m sitting on the couch and a sleepy puppy is curled up next to me. (He just did a random kick in his sleep, and he changed the channel! hah)

My to-do list is crazy today. I’ve got phone calls to make, mail to stick in the mailbox, studying for the GRE, going to the Verizon store and getting my phone fixed, haircut, studying for the GRE, grocery shopping (because my family procrastinates), possibly buying a plane ticket to California, using a Groupon for frozen yogurt, cleaning the kitchen, studying for the GRE, watching To Kill a Mockingbird. Ok, so it’s not so crazy, but on a day off from work I can think of many other things I would like to do instead of the above.

What are your plans for today?

Honestly, it doesn’t feel like tomorrow is Thanksgiving. Every year I’ve always been SO excited for the holiday and family time, but this year it’s just so different. We haven’t planned anything with Padre’s side of the family for the first time in forever. And with Momma’s family… it’s going to be tough. First big family get-together/holiday without my aunt Niki. I’ve been crying off & on the past few days thinking about it.

Every year at Thanksgiving, Pops insists that we all share something we’re thankful for before we pray. Mine used to be the typical “education” and “family” then became things that we all take for granted… “a bed” “a car” and “running water.” Last year I didn’t share anything because I was crying too hard.

A month before Thanksgiving 2011, my aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer. It was a rough month, but we were all staying strong throughout it. Naturally, on Thanksgiving, my uncle piped up saying how thankful he was for his wife and how strong she was battling the cancer. He was thankful for the cancer bringing him closer to Niki and to God. He was thankful that God answered prayers (at this point she was in remission) and so so thankful for his family. He started crying as he spilled out his thanks, thus causing the rest of the family to start crying.

Niki said pretty much the same things, including “health” and “I’m thankful for my husband who has been there for me and the girls.” 

When they asked my oldest little cousin what she was thankful for, she said “Mommy and Daddy.”

Then it was my littlest cousin’s turn. “What are you thankful for, Autumn?”“My fish bathing suit!”

*insert laughter here*

My grandma went next, crying as she expressed her thanks for her family, her loving church family, and how the cancer had brought the family closer together. Her crying made my grandpa cry, and of course we ALL were in tears at this point.

“Anybody else have anything to share?” Pops asked.

I was too busy wiping my nose and eyes with tissues to answer.

We formed somewhat of a circle and held hands as best we could with two wiggly little girls trying to get out of the circle. Pops prayed and thanked God for so much *cue the tears again* and then blessed the food we were so thankful to have. The cancer put everything into perspective last year and made us all the more thankful to have all of our beloved family members with us.

This year… wow. I can only imagine there will be just as many thanks and tears as last year. I just don’t know how I’m going to handle it without being a wreck myself. I truly have so many things I’m thankful for, and although the past month has been difficult with the death of my aunt, it’s been a growing experience and the whole family has come together through it.

Have you taken time to think about what you’re thankful for this year???

((I guess it’s time for me to move from my comfy spot on the couch and get ready to run my errands.))

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on Thanksgiving « Find Your Way

  2. Pingback: November in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

