On Blogging

Standard

Well, I’ve hit the proverbial blogging wall.

I feel like my life isn’t interesting enough, like I haven’t traveled enough places, like I don’t have anything worth sharing, like I’m not cool enough to blog… and that’s why I haven’t blogged much lately.

It’s not that I haven’t had time because let’s face it, I have definitely had time. Instead of getting into bed at night at 9:30pm with fresh chocolate chip cookies, a cup of milk, and something to watch on Netflix, there are numerous other things I could be doing… like working out, cleaning my bathroom cabinet out, studying for the GRE, finishing Anna Karenina, but you know… sometimes there’s nothing better than this grandma being in bed at 9:30pm.

I just feel like whatever I have to say about anything isn’t important, and won’t be read.

I could blog about Durham but my posts are never quite as exciting as other Durham/foodie bloggers. I could blog about my mundane days at work and getting hit on by awkward volunteers and tutoring. I could blog about the boring recipes I’ve made lately using mainly sweet potatoes, mushrooms, butternut squash, and spinach. I could blog about my “everyday outfits” but that’s mainly just skinny jeans, boots, tshirts, cardigans and scarves, so nothing special there.

Basically, I’ve run out of things to blog about. Unless the lame everyday is appealing to you?

It’s kind of hard to blog when there’s nothing exciting or insightful to share.

I think another culprit to my blogging writer’s block is the fact that I’ve been doing a lot of blog reading lately. I’ve found new people who fascinate me, whose stories captivate & motivate me, and whose pictures reel me into their lives. It’s quite sad actually, this whole feeling inferior to other bloggers/people because of being the way you are. It all goes back to comparing, really, and I struggle with that.

I’ll be honest though- for me, it’s not about the numbers… how many views my little blog got in any given day, how many “likes” or comments on a post, or even how many blog posts I publish. It’s not about the quantity, it’s about the quality… what I write and how it’s interpreted by my readers. It’s about saying something that others can relate to, giving them a glimpse of life in Durham, or something that others can use.

I guess it’s kind of contradictory though because I say that “I blog for me” yet I want to blog for others… I want people to stumble across my blog and find themselves coming back again and again to see what I’m up to, or read my thoughts on various subjects, or my experiences.

I am in a blogging quandary. And I’m currently trying to figure out what I want to accomplish with this blog.

Who do you blog for? What do you blog about? 

 

from here



*random sidenote: almost all of my paragraphs begin with the letter “I.” I clearly need to work on my writing skills.

3 responses »

  1. This is definitely a tough one for me too. I’ve learned that I have to stop blogging for other people…and just do it for myself. Sometimes I pretend that my future kids are going to read it someday, and think about what I think they’d want to know about my life.

  2. Pingback: November in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

