Friday Favorites

Standard

It’s FRIDAY! Which means it’s time for another round of my Friday Favorites! Enjoy 🙂

Kevin Love shaved his head for Breast Cancer Awareness month (October) and for every like, watch & share of the video, Love and Fitzgerald would donate 25 cents! Click below and watch!

Spread the Love

A delicious tortilla soup recipe that I plan on trying ASAP!

Cool personalized games & gifts for the holidays from Pinhole Press!

I just discovered Lonely Dinosaur this week and this shirt made me laugh:

If you’re feeling adventurous this weekend, here are 5 ways to make a fort! Great way to entertain kids on days when it’s too cold to play outside!

Article about the moon: Minding- and mining – the Moon by Eva Hayward on Indy Week.

Did you know that November is National Novel Writing Month??? I’ve always wanted to participate! As a little girl, I always dreamt of being a writer… living in a quaint cottage, drinking hot tea, baking, and of course, writing stories at my comfy kitchen table.  In Durham county, the library is offering a few workshops to get involved in so you can write a novel this month!

On that note, an article about why writers must be readers.

The 10 Best Bike Cities in America. Durham (or any city in NC for that matter) doesn’t rank, but I would love to visit/live in a few of those cities at some point in my life!

Need a way to use your leftover Halloween candy? Make these Halloween candy bar bites!

In the Eye of the Storm: Capturing Sandy’s Wrath via Time magazine. Wow, those photos.

Use Fancy Words like supercilious with the Everygirl! (Definition: behaving as if one is superior. Haughty, condescending, overbearing) I love learning new words to toss into my everyday conversations 🙂 #nerd

Do love to sit in a rocking chair and use your iPad? Well, lucky for you, there’s FINALLY a rocking chair with an iPad dock and speakers! Go ahead and write it on your Christmas list, you know you want it! And it’s only $1,300. Genius, right?!]

This recipe just says “Fall” to me for some reason: Coconut Crusted Haddock with Curried Pumpkin Seeds. YUM. I mean, anything coconut has to be good!!!

Apparently horror movies are good for your health? Who would have guessed?!

I’m sure you heard that Disney bought Lucasfilm… it’s a big deal. I am a big Star Wars fan, but I don’t think anymore films need to be made. Why mess up something good? (AKA, the 3 original episodes) Here’s an article about which characters will live on in the stupid sagas to come. And Disney is unlikely to change ‘Star Wars’ brand. Whew.

25 fun fonts for font snobs via the Handmade Home. I like them all!

A few days late, but here’s one of my favorite North Carolina ghost story: The Ghost at Maco Station. My dad “saw” the ghost back when he was a young man, and he used to tell me about it every Halloween. At one point I had even memorized the story because I liked it so much! Do you have any favorite ghost stories?

Terrian has great new Winter accessories! Makes me long for a Northern Winter full of snow and brisk winds.

The Guards at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier are one of my favorite things in DC. Their dedication and perseverance amazes and inspires me. And I love how they stay on guard during crazy weather like Hurricane Sandy.

New York’s Coney Island Aquarium might have to evacuate their 12,000 creatures! 😮 Seriously, who would have thought that an aquarium would need to evacuate after a storm? I wouldn’t have.

Did you find any fun, interesting, or crazy news stories or links this week??? 

One response »

  1. Pingback: November in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

