An Afternoon in Central Park

Standard

Did I catch you off guard with that title? Were you thinking perhaps I was magically in New York City perusing the sidewalks of THE Central Park? Sorry for the befuddlement ๐Ÿ˜‰

Durham Central Park

No, I’m talking about the Durham Central Park. Home of the Durham Farmer’s Market, various Food Truck Rodeos, and there’s even a skate little park!

The only times I had ever really been to this area of downtown was for the Farmer’s Markets this past summer. Sure, I had photographed the “Durham Central Park” painting on the brick (that I adore), but I had never walked around without a purpose (like trying to find which stand was selling the most colorful flowers/tomatoes/peppers!).ย Actually, that’s a semi-lie: there was a purpose in going downtown on Friday… it involved fulfilling a requirement for AmeriCorps but that’s another story.

Here are some cell phone pictures from a little stroll around Central Park:

Hello pretty fall tree!

close up

The Leaf designed & built by college students

seating

Bridge!

big leaf!

railway seating

After our exploring and pictures, we headed over to Daisycakes for some sweets! I visited for the first time with Britt back in June, and was so impressed! Friday’s trip there didn’t disappoint either ๐Ÿ™‚

Sweet potato cupcake with merengue topping + dry cucumber soda

This cupcake was delicious! I was really surprised at how sweet it was, because I guess I assumed a sweet potato cupcake would taste more like sweet potato pie/casserole, and it hit the sweet-tooth spot! ๐Ÿ™‚ The dry cucumber soda… I’m not a fan of it. (but I do like the bottle!) Have you ever tried dry soda?

raspberry macaroon and raspberry tart

cute cake in a jar!

bacon gingersnap cookie!!!

baby pumpkin!

The dessert bar!

Everything about Daisycakes makes me smile. From the white-painted exposed brick, to the sleek, clean lines of the dessert bar/tables/chairs, to the delicious choices they offer, to the overall design … everything is amazing! If you’ve never been to Daisycakes, I highly recommend a trip there! ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t be fooled into thinking they only offer sweet treats, check out their menu and see what else they have!

One response »

  1. Pingback: October in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

