NC State Fair 2012

Standard

Fall means it’s time for the North Carolina State Fair!

I hadn’t been to the fair since high school, so this year was a big treat. I used to go every year as a kid, begging my parents to buy a bag of cotton candy, or a caramel apple with nuts. Pleading with them to let me play a cheesy fun game, and ride a sketchy cool ride. The State Fair meant I would spend all of my allowance in one place, hoping to find the best rides and games.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to appreciate the fair for other reasons, namely fried food & people watching. It’s true, those are the reasons I go. Judge away 😉

There couldn’t have been better weather on Saturday for the Fair… it was sunny and in the 70s, yet chilly enough to wear a light jacket. Of course the perfect weather and weekend day brought lots of people out, and the crowd was somewhat overwhelming at times.

Every year, there’s a record crowd at the State Fair, and this year was no different. Since October 11th, roughly 726,000 people had passed through the gates, and although total attendance was under 1 million, it was still a record crowd.

Since I’m a huge nerd, I really enjoy looking at all the exhibits. From decorated cakes to elementary kids’ paintings, from ribbon-winning rabbits to showcases of NC agriculture, I like it all! This year, my friend and I perused the exhibits, pet some animals, ate lots of food, and watched a pig race. We felt like kids and were totally fine with it!

I think the State Fair brings out the kid in all of us.

For just $4 I got this round-trip bus pass to and from the fair. And I parked for free!

Checking out the animals

The little goats were so hungry and fighting for carrots!

Caitlin wanted to pet the camel since she lovesss them! (she studied abroad in Egypt and rode them frequently!)

SO MANY CHOICES!

Fried potatoes AKA chips 🙂

Deep Fried Reese’s

peanut-buttery inside

I never knew this part of the fair existed…

me and Caitlin after devouring fried food!

Mandatory picture of a ferris wheel at the fair.

Caitlin and her Pappy’s root beer! The cup + drink was $6, and refills were only $2!

Himalayan rabbit. I call this the panda of rabbits.

There was a miniature train set in a garden area! Little kid Meredith was excited.

Pretty stained glass

Neat garden art/bird feeders

cute garden set-up

So many Mums!!!

yum yum apple cider!

apple cider slush

Smokey needs a shirt

We did this walk-thru exhibit where you can see how well (or poorly) you wash your hands!

Caitlin’s Philly Cheesesteak

I gave into peer pressure and bought this cup + Ginger Ale. It was worth it.

an afternoon at the races…

Ducks

piggies racing

Yes, I went there.

Caitlin and her beloved chocolate-dipped cheesecake (not to be confused with the bald man behind her)

A dog house … state fair style

YUM

Bumper Crop of FUN! 😉

Pumpkin Pie… State Fair style

Yes, I took lots of pictures of my deep fried pumpkin pie.

so good

Until next time, NC State Fair!

Foods eaten: soft salted pretzel. Honey cotton candy. Deep fried Reese’s. Fried Potato chips. Apple cider slush. Philly cheesesteak. Old fashioned Gingerale. Old fashioned Root Beer. Chocolate-dipped cheesecake. Fried pumpkin pie. Caramel apple. 

Although I’m not too proud of my fried food splurges, I thoroughly enjoyed everything I ate, and I have no regrets. 🙂 After all, the State Fair only comes around once a year! [And the deep fried pumpkin pie was worth the $5 spent. Crunchy outside, soft pumpkiny inside… definitely my new favorite State Fair treat!]

Highlights/memories include:  watching the pig race with everyone else and cheering like a kid. Getting honey cotton candy for free from my friend’s mom working the booth. Ignoring the barkers saying, “let me guess your weight!” Laughing at all the parents carrying around giant stuffed animals for their kids. Exploring the garden area for the first time. Seeing the people from Lizard Lick Towing. Watching kids attempt pull-ups at the military tent. Hearing kids screaming because they want to “ride it again!” Walking in circles for hours and still not being able to find the fried pumpkin pie stand.

There’s nothing quite like the sights, sounds & smells at the NC State Fair. 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: October in Review « Find Your Way

  2. Pingback: Finding Your Way « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

