An NC Fall

Standard

Dearest NC Fall,

I must admit that although I am sad to see the days of shorts, tank-tops and sandals go, a North Carolina fall is my favorite. Not too warm, not too cold… just right!

The arrival of your crispy air beckons me to the mountains, where I think your beauty is most evident. Hillsides covered in shades of red, yellow, orange, are one of the things I love most about your season. Who wants to road-trip to the mountains with me soon?

Already, your vibrant, warm colors can be seen on the trees and sidewalks, making the trail I run much more colorful and interesting. I must say, you are an eye-catching season. ((And I just have to say that I love your colorful leaves and I usually pick a few each year to press to remind myself of the beauty of the season.))

Because of you, it’s now appropriate for me to pull my boots and scarves and gloves out… and I’m very excited about this!

During the few months of your presence, pumpkin flavors come out in full force, making my choices at coffee shops much more difficult! Pumpkin latte or regular soy latte?!

Although the days are getting shorter, your Fall sun that shines down in Durham reminds me that before I know it, spring will be on it’s way!

I love that now the weather is just right for chili and soup and grilled cheese sandwiches… I sure do miss the comforting food during the warmer seasons.

The arrival of Fall in North Carolina means it’s time for the NC State Fair! And this year I was lucky enough to be able to go enjoy the fried foods and funny sights at the fair.

Oh, North Carolina. Your Fall’s are one of my favorite seasons. Stick around for a while this year?

Signed,

An NC Fall lover

“Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.” -William Cullen Bryant

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.” -George Eliot

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” -L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

One response »

  1. Pingback: October in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

