Friday Favorites

Standard

Finally, Friday is here! I have been looking forward to today all week (it’s been stressful and sad, if you’ve been keeping up with my tweets or blog) : tonight I’m going to see Milo Greene, tomorrow is the NC State Fair and the big UNC/DUKE football game, and Sunday I’m going to try out a small group with the Summit Church! I’m really hoping this weekend turns out as fun as I hope it will! πŸ™‚ What are your plans?

I found a few links I wanted to share this week; nothing too exciting.

It’s soup season! I’ve been wanting to try new recipes, and this Taco Soup recipe from Sew Caroline looks delicious!

If you were a 90s baby, you probably remember Lisa Frank. Well, here’s a peek into her office space in Tuscon, AZ. Man, it brings back so many memories from my childhood! Not gonna lie, I was a HUGE Lisa Frank fan! Stickers, notebooks, coloring books… oh so fun.

I discovered this nonprofit, Sole HopeΒ that helps put shoes on the feet of children in Uganda and Zambia. Their values are relief, education & sustainability. The whole idea is kinda like Toms. But it’s based in Asheville, NC so that makes it even cooler! πŸ™‚

Ignoring the Friends I Have – And Yet Wishing I Had MoreΒ :: article on Good Women Project. I totally relate to this, do you?

Ever heard of Pencils of Promise? I bought a shirt supporting the nonprofit a few weeks ago, and I love it and what it stands for. Here’s an article about how it all got started, thanks to Adam Braun. An example of sustainability at its finest!

“Do any of you ever go through what might be called spiritual depression? A time of gloominess if you will? I do, and it is one reason why we need the prayers of one another.” -status on Facebook. This is so me lately. I am definitely going through a spiritual depression because of a few factors (like this one) and it’s hard. I don’t want to be this way but I am. I could use your prayers!

Actual video of eyewitness to Lincoln’s Assassination. (via Relevant magazine) And he doesn’t mention vampires at all…hmm. Maybe we have our “history” wrong? (Yes, I’m talking about this)

Do you like naps? Do you want to be able to take naps anywhere? If so, then you NEED this hat! πŸ˜‰

Hey Beatles fans- can you name the song based on the recording information? Try this quiz on Sporcle!

Check out this North Carolina ghost story from Deep South MagazineThe Curse of 21.” I’m somewhat of a chicken, but I love a good ghost story!

This is currently a super important topic: politics. Here are 7 Things Christians Need to Remember about Politics. Regardless of who ends up President of our country, God is still in control. Trust Him.

Ever wondered how to properly cream butter and sugar? Wonder no more. Check out this Kitchen Basics: Creaming Butter and Sugar.

Just the name of this article made my skin tingle: Screech! Sounds which are worse than nails on a chalkboard. They’re ranked 1 to 10. They allll make my skin tingle.

Tis the season for pumpkin, which means I can try this Baked Pumpkin Fettuccine Alfredo recipe from How Sweet It Is! (Jessica’s recipes are some of my favorites, I just haven’t made a lot of them!)

A DIY for Circle Scarves. Fun fact- I used to knit. (told ya I was a grandma) Another fun fact- I can never start a scarf. I’m horrible at casting on. And yes, I’ve tried youtube “how-to” videos. Argh.

If you’re in or near Cary, NC next week around dusk, check out this Reel-ly Scary Cary event with scary movies every night! Again, I’m a chicken so I probably won’t be in or near Cary next week πŸ™‚

Last nonprofit shout-out of the day :: The charity of the week on Sevenly is Action Against Hunger. Ending world hunger is something I care about, but I’m still undecided on whether or not I should purchase a shirt! What do you think?

I haven’t worked out in a while (slacker, yeah I know), but I might try out something quick like this:

Biscoff Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies recipe via Two Peas and Their Pod. I don’t even know what Biscoff is, but pumpkin oatmeal cookies??? YUM.

What fun links have you found this week?

One response »

  1. Pingback: October in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

