Life

Standard

Life sure does have its ways of creeping in, doesn’t it?

I’m talking about sickness, work, stress, friendships, etc.

In the past week, life has snuck its way into my life and been rearranging it, changing it.

I’ve gotten all whacked out on my sleep schedule, haven’t been training for my 5k, been eating junky food (buffalo chicken dip!), pulled an all-nighter in a hospital waiting room, spent too much money on said junky food, watched too many episodes of Flashpoint, shared my bed with a cuddly little 6-year old cousin, been stressed to the max, and feeling the beginnings of a cold coming on.

Oh, life.

This isn’t a post to complain about my life, quite the contrary. I just wanted to fill you all in on what’s being going on lately and how I’ve been trying to cope with life. (and my absence from the world of wordpress)

Sometimes it’s hard to stay strong when things come your way, and other times it’s easy to stay strong, to keep fighting when others can’t.

One battle being fought is my aunt’s battle against an infection. Right now, doctors and nurses and fellows are doing everything they can to help stabilize her and let her body heal. I’m praying that happens sooner rather than later; her little girls have no idea what’s going on with their mother.

With that battle brings the battle of family getting-togetherness. People have to overcome differences, forget past frustrations with one another, and come together to pray for and support my uncle. On Monday afternoon, tears were shed and apologies were said as we all hoped for good news from the operating room. Southern families sure do have their drama.

When you think about it, we all have battles we face each and every day. Whether it’s something as simple as choosing to call up that friend you haven’t talked to in a while, or choosing not to gossip. It could be choosing not to pick up that drink, or choosing to pick up your Bible. Things that seem easy enough to put off until tomorrow, yet things that can change the outcome of your day. 

I’ve been battling laziness and exhaustion- physically, spiritually, mentally & emotionally. I’ve been battling a mindset that tells me that I’m not important, my skills aren’t important, and that what I do isn’t important. Gosh, these battles have taken a toll on me and I wish I could overcome them.

Has life creeped up on you lately? Are there battles you’ve been fighting?

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” – Robert Frost

“Even during the worst hardships, when the other things in our lives seem to fall apart, we can still find peace in the eternal love of God.” – Armstrong Williams

“We can’t plan life. All we can do is be available for it.” – Lauryn Hill

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Another Angel « Find Your Way

  2. Pingback: October in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

