Remembering

Standard

Today I’m doing a lot of remembering.

Not solely because of the date – September 11 – but because I’ve had random memories pop into my mind, and determined to not forget them, I jotted them down.

I remember taking our sweet old black lab Chloe on hikes at the Eno River, and her diving for rocks in the 3-foot water. I remember how excited she would get when we would go hiking. Oh, the fond memories of Chloe.

I remember carpooling home from high school with a friend and her brother, and us singing “Lime in the Coconut” and laughing the whole time. Oh, those silly high school memories.

I remember my first day in Peru in 2009… the shock I felt when I had to ask an officer for directions to an Incan Market that many people don’t know about. I remember blushing when I couldn’t think of the word for “blocks” in Spanish, and how the officer seemed impatient with this gringa. Oh, the memories of Peru that remain fresh in my mind.

I remember going to a concert in Charlotte 2 years ago today with some friends from high school who I hadn’t seen in 2 years (and haven’t seen since then). I remember the thrill I felt when the musician made eye contact with me from the stage. Oh, the random girl memories from concerts with little-known artists.

I remember today, my Grandpa’s birthday as a special day to celebrate the strongest man of God I know. I remember him quoting Bible verses off to me at random times, and his urging me to memorize more. I remember calling him every year (which reminds me that I need to call him on my lunch break!) and him always making me cry with his sweet words of thanks. Oh, how I love Pops.

 

I remember sitting in reading class in 6th grade and our teacher being summoned to the hallway by the assistant principal. When she came back in with a look of horror on her face, she merely said the words, “the United States is under attack.” Being juvenile 10 & 11-year olds we were confused, but later came to understand the gravity of her words as we watched images on the screens and heard the panicked voices of 911 callers begging for help on the news. I remember watching the news that afternoon and night, scared of what might happen, and sad for the families of the victims. Oh, the bleak memories I associate with that day in 2001.

I remember gathering around a flag days later at my school and praying earnestly for our country. I remember praying that we would remain “one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.” I remember praying that the events of 9/11/01 might lead someone to turn to God. Funny how some prayers remain the same throughout the years, no?

“Tonight, I ask for your prayers for all those who grieve, for the children whose worlds have been shattered, for all whose sense of safety and security has been threatened. And I pray they will be comforted by a power greater than any of us, spoken through the ages in Psalm 23: “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me.” –President George W. Bush September 11, 2001 (via)

“You can be sure that the American spirit will prevail over this tragedy.” –Colin Powell

Let today be a day of remembering for you, in whatever form or capacity you choose.

One response »

  1. Pingback: September in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

