Smile

Standard

I don’t know about where you are this Monday morning, but here in the Triangle, it’s rainy and yucky outside.

Traffic was rough this morning due to the weather and the influx of people back into the Durham/Chapel Hill area for school, and my feet got soaked walking to my building and trying to dodge all the rain puddles.

It’s mornings like these that I would love to be home, curled up in bed with a cup of coffee and a book (I’m currently reading Anna Karenina by Tolstoy. Nerd alert) Instead, I’m at work.

Today on the extremely rainy bus ride into work, I saw a familiar sight, but one that broke my heart even more today than it normally does.

At the Catholic building on campus, 90% of the time when I ride by in the mornings, there’s an older woman huddled up on the bench, with her bike beside her, attempting to get some sleep. I’ve seen her out riding it before; her heavy backpack bursting at the seams, her bike weighed down with herself and everything she owns loaded onto it. I’ve never gotten close enough to say something, as we’re always separated by the windows of the bus. If I ever did get close enough I might ask her name, if I can buy her some coffee and a sandwich, if she needs a ride somewhere or a few spare dollars. I might give her a poncho, a bottle of water, or a book to read. I can only imagine how she spends her days, but I know how she spends her nights… probably trying to protect herself… from the elements and people wandering around campus.

Despite the weather outside today, don’t let it affect your attitude.

Think of how that woman must feel- stuck outside trying to stay safe and dry while most people who pass her by are in their cars, on the bus, or carrying an umbrella.

Challenge for Monday :: SMILE  ((And then check out the Monday Life! If that doesn’t make you smile, I don’t know what will! 🙂 ))

No matter how you are feeling, and what your circumstances may be today, smile. Trust me, it makes a difference.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: August in Review « Find Your Way

  2. Pingback: Children’s Hospitals « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

