Mornings

Standard

I don’t know about you, but for me, it’s imperative that my mornings go smoothly to ensure that my day gets off to a good start. If I miss the bus or forget lunch at home, it’s pretty much inevitable that my day will go downhill from there… if I let it. Lately I’ve been trying not to sweat the little things in the mornings and make myself make the most of a bad morning.

If I had it my way, every morning would be spent lying in bed watching the sun come through my front window around 8:00am. Then, I would roll out of bed ever so gently, slip my feet into my bedroom slippers, and head downstairs to make a cup of coffee. After loving on the puppy, I would pop a pack of coffee into the Keurig and wait for the sweet aroma of coffee to fill the air. Once I had added sugar and creamer, I would climb back upstairs and into bed, reach over to my nightstand and grab my Bible, journal and multi-colored pens. I would spend an hour or so reading, then officially start my day.

my view yesterday morning
((the little tiki head thing is from a village in the Amazon in Peru!))

That’s what I did yesterday morning. I slept through my alarms and decided to skip church and spend the morning in bed reading and sipping coffee (and chowing down on Oh’s cereal with vanilla soy milk!) I haven’t done that in a while and it felt good to slow the pace of usual Sunday mornings down a notch… and simply spend time with God. It definitely got my day off to a great start.

Some mornings, when I don’t have the luxury of sleeping in and waiting for the sun to hit my face, I still make an effort to be happy and have a good day. This morning, when I was up at o-dark-thirty (5:30am), it was almost impossible for me to find the strength to get up and start my day. After doing my usual get-ready routine, frying an egg, and playing catch with the puppy, I was out the door and heading to the bus stop. Lucky for me, I was early and got to treat myself to a cup of coffee from the famous coffee chain that is located everywhere these days. (guess who?) I snuck my coffee on the bus and spent the bus ride reading the Bible from the app on my phone. It wasn’t as comfortable or cozy as yesterday morning’s routine, but I’ll take it. Coffee and encouraging words make for a great start to any morning.

2 Chronicles 6:14 He said: “Lord, the God of Israel, there is no God like you in heaven or on earth—you who keep your covenant of love with your servants who continue wholeheartedly in your way.”

What’s your favorite way to get your day started? Any morning routines?

2 responses »

  1. I’m going to guess that famous coffee chain was Buckstars. Am I right?

    My pastor in college would always encourage me to develop morning and evening rituals to signal the start and end of a day. The point was to combat restlessness and to focus on rejuvenation. To this day I still haven’t figured out what works in that sense, perhaps one day I will.

  2. Pingback: August in Review « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

