Friday Favorites

Standard

Hi ya! Are you glad it’s Friday? I know I am!!! With the mid-week holiday, my schedule has been thrown all out of whack. And I’m looking forward to this weekend because not only do I get to check things off my to-do list,  it’s also my birthday! 🙂 I actually have plans for Saturday night (which I will be sure to photograph and blog about) and I am super excited! Tonight however, I plan on keeping it low-key and cleaning the bathroom, cleaning my room, working out, and experimenting in the kitchen with dinner. That’s what normal single girls do on a Friday night… right??? 😉

This week I have a random conglomeration of things to share. There are favorite news stories and blog post links (thanks to links from twitter!) so if you don’t like reading, then don’t bother reading them. I haven’t had much time to explore the WWW this week, but here’s what I managed to find:

[ ] Although it’s not college basketball season, there is tenting going on at Duke. (If you’ve never heard of the infamous K-ville, we cannot be blog friends. Sorry) Engaged couples from all around are tenting in hopes of putting their names down to reserve their wedding in the gorgeous Duke Chapel. It may sound crazy, but tenting is a Duke tradition. You can read the article from the Duke Chronicle here.

[ ] Speaking of Duke, a football player was seriously injured on Wednesday. It’s been so nice seeing all the love and support for him on twitter. #Prayfor8

[ ] I’m not married, but I think this article is great. Studies have shown that men who do more of the housework are happier! Especially if there’s a reward or something in it for him. That’s all I’m going to say.

[ ] Project 543 is a North Carolina tourism project that highlights 543 places and unique sites in NC! I plan on visiting every place they highlight 🙂  In memory of Andy Griffith passing away on Tuesday, a visit to Mayberry was on the site. My family and I spent a day there back in 2009 and it was so cute!

[ ] An interesting article about the difference between yoga and pilates. Which one do you practice/prefer?

[ ] My friends’ blog post about our Fourth of July adventures! 🙂 What did you do on the 4th?

[ ] I don’t know about y’all, but all this hype about “50 Shades of Grey” and Magic Mike has made me nauseous over the past few weeks. Without going on a rant about all this nonsense, here’s a woman’s opinion about it all. Her blog post, entitled “50 Shades of Magic Mike” really made me think about what I’m looking at, listening to, and reading. Garbage in, garbage out. And I don’t want to be a trashy person.

[ ] A sweet story about an orphan baby beluga who was rescued.

[ ] Who says age should slow you down? This gym teacher is 85-years old. Crazy!

[ ] I saw fireworks twice this week. Amazing both times. Last night, I saw them at the Durham Bulls game. One of my favorite summertime activities… a Bulls game and fireworks after!

4th of July

[ ] My favorite new shades::  If we’re friends, you may have seen my favorite (and only!) purchase from the beach last weekend. Hello $8 sunglasses. I thought they were cool until I saw this site. Now those are some hot shades! Do you own a pair of stylish sunglasses?

sunshine and shades

(thanks Britt for the pics!)

 

 

Have a happy Friday!!!

Leave a Reply

