Feeling Pretty

Standard

Do you ever have those days when you feel pretty? Or, for all you men out there, days when you feel handsome? It’s different than the way you usually feel, isn’t it???

To be honest, those days are rare for me. I might look pretty all dressed up for church in heels and a dress.  I might look pretty up on stage holding my friends’ bouquet and fulfilling my duty as Maid of Honor. I might look pretty walking around UNC at work smiling at everyone I pass. I might look pretty after a workout. Ok, just kidding on that last one, but my point is that although I may happen to look pretty, I don’t always feel pretty.

I guess some of it goes back to comparing myself to others, and not feeling like I measure up to someone else’s looks. But some of it is a heart issue as well-  If I don’t know that I’m pretty on the inside, why should I feel pretty on the outside? And likewise, if I know I am pretty on the inside, I should feel pretty on the outside. Most of all, I should always feel pretty because I am loved by the King.

 Psalm 45:11 says,

 ~Be here—the king is wild for you.
      Since he’s your lord, adore him  (The Message)

~So will the King desire your beauty; because He is your Lord, be submissive and reverence and honor Him. (Amplified Bible)

~Let the king be enthralled by your beauty;
    honor him, for he is your lord.  (New International Version)

Like the Message says, He is wild for me. And if that doesn’t make me feel pretty & wanted, then I don’t know what would! Just reading those words makes me smile.

The bottom line and the entire point of this post is basically a reminder to myself… that despite my circumstances or attitude or appearance, I should always feel pretty. No, beautiful. I should always feel beautiful. Whether I’m dressed up or in gym shorts, I should feel beautiful because He loves me.

 

on the streets of NYC in Disney

Leave a Reply

