Slowly Getting Faster

Standard

It’s true. My running is slowly getting faster.

After this post- Wannabe Runner – back in April, I went running maybe once every other week, if even that. And by running, I mean that awkward run for as long as I could, then walk, then try to run again but be so out of breath that I start speedwalking thus making my “run” a lame & lazy 1.5mile trudge. Yeah, when it comes to running, I’m a baby. But there have been a few things pushing me towards my goal of becoming a runner, and helping me to slowly get faster.

I’ve been running more than once a week. I blame it on all my runner friends who make me envy their hour-long runs in the hot sun, or their inspiring 8-minute miles. I want to be able to do that. And by golly, I’m trying. It’s been hard to make time for it, but again, I’m trying. (Work in progress over here, folks) To all my runner friends- thank you for unknowingly making me want to be a better runner.

I’ve been pushing myself more lately by running through the pain. It’s a mental game that I try to win at, but sometimes I just have to give in. Is there a secret to overcoming that? I feel like that’s my biggest obstacle as a beggining runner… finding the mental strength to keep going and not stop and to push through the pain.

Music keeps me running. Whether it’s “Barracuda” by Heart, “Inside Out” by Eve 6, “Divide the Hate” by Submersed, or “Run Right Back” by The Black Keys, the music keeps me focused and helps me keep somewhat of a pace. If I’m having a hard time, I run for a song, walk for a song. I am getting a little tired of the same songs over and over, so if you have any favorite running songs, send them my way!

My dad has really been a source of wisdom and encouragement to me as I attempt to “pick up” this new hobby. He has given me pointers on breathing, keeping a comfortable pace, and ways to warm up and cool down. He even bought me running shoes for my birthday!!! (that I’m not allowed to wear until next Sunday… bummer!) I’ve been wanting & needing new shoes for years (Read: I’ve had my current ones since high school, making them 4+ years old) and now that I’m lacing up the old sneaks’ more and more, my dad thought it a good idea to buy me some. A very practical and useful gift, no?!

Saturday evening I walked into the Nike outlet store (hello, cheap shoes!) looking completely lost. Once I found the running shoe selection, I picked up the first pair that caught my eyes, and tried them on for size. The fit was perfect. I carried that pair around, then ended up trying on six other pairs. After ruling out all but two pairs, I was at a standstill. I really liked them both!

Which pair do you think I chose???

I ended up choosing the very first pair I tried on. Crazy how that happens, right? Minutes later, I walked out of that Nike store grinning from ear to ear. These hot new running shoes are definitely going to motivate me to run!

Although I am nowhere near meeting my running goals, I am thankful for the people & things that have been making me push myself harder and try to achieve them. Hopefully they will continue to make me run better, faster, longer & stronger!

What pushes you to achieve your goals???

4 responses »

  1. Yesss! The only day of the week I’ll have even a hint of free time will be Sunday (starting in about 2 weeks). We should plan to then maybe? I’m either going to start waking up early or going out super late. I need to do it. Congrats on the new shoes!!

  2. Pingback: July in Review | findyourway2011

Leave a Reply

