On Orphans & Adoption

Standard

Where to begin?

 

Oh, here is perfect:

James 1:27 “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in distress, and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”

Orphans. A word that break my heart yet give me hope.

There are so many orphans in the world. Millions.

I have a dear friend who is waiting to adopt a little boy from Ethiopia. Their family has been waiting for a little over a year now. I realize that is nothing in comparison to other families who have waited multiple years. But this “case” is closer to home as I’ve been one of the ones in waiting and in prayer for a precious orphan.

Adoption is expensive. And with two kids and a busy lifestyle, sometimes it’s hard to save money and depend on God to provide. But sometimes, your church friends & family help out a little 🙂

Almost two months ago now, my friends had a fundraiser for their adoption. I offered to help in anyway possible. I love to decorate, set things up, and serve. It’s one of my gifts. I prefer to be behind the scenes serving rather than up front speaking any day!

So one Saturday morning, I headed up to help my friends. And when we had down time, I played frisbee and t-ball with their girls. When the food got there- grilled barbecue chicken, green beans, potatoes  (props to my dad for cooking it all!) we all got ready to serve. I was in charge of ice and drinks. And although it sounds like a lame job, I was happy doing it! I liked making smalltalk with everyone and scooping the ice and getting the drinks ready. Any small way I can help, I’ll do it! Because I was busy during the dinner & music, I didn’t have an opportunity to snap pictures of all the supportive friends who came out to donate to the adoption.

But here are some pictures I took before the adoption fundraiser:

Do you know anyone who is waiting to adopt?  Have you ever gone through the adoption process?

 

Leave a Reply

