In Five Years

Standard

A few weeks ago I sat down and wrote out a few goals for the next five years. The “writing your goals down” is no stranger to me… I used to do it every school year. Of course, those were just academic goals, nothing too important ūüėČ In college, my goals and dreams went something like this:

Pick a major. Find my dream man and fall in love. Get good grades. Get engaged. Graduate. Get married.

Can you tell that I (and my family) had always thought I would meet my husband in college and get married after graduating? It’s a Southern thing. Now that I am out of college and only three of the above goals have been achieved, I¬†figured it was¬†time to write out my next set of goals (in lime green and light blue, of course!), however silly or unreachable they might be.

You see, the thing with me is I have no idea where I want to be in the future. I’ve always just gone with the flow, let God lead. And that’s still the case in my life because I have no big plans.¬†My future is completely uncharted, and in a way, I like knowing that. But in a way, it is kind of unnerving and scary. So when writing down my goals I made sure to include all areas, not just profession or education. I have lots of little things I want to do…

~ Take the GRE

~ Apply for and get accepted into the Speech Therapy Graduate school program at UNC

~ Volunteer within the Spanish-speaking community

~ Move out and get a place of my own

~ Sponsor a child through Compassion International or World Vision

~ Travel more within the United States

~ Learn more foreign languages and improve my conversational Hindi & Chinese

~ Visit every state park in North Carolina

~ Run a 5K

~ Become a friend and mentor to a young girl

~ Teach English abroad for at least 3 months

~ Fall in love?

~ Read classic literature for fun

~ Backpack (part of) the Appalachian Trail

~ Visit major US cities: Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, Nashville, New York City, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Francisco.

~ Memorize a book of the Bible

~ Learn a new sport

~ Pursue a new hobby or craft

~ Go on more overseas mission trips [Peru, India, Africa, Haiti?]

Although I have put the lime green and blue pens away, this list isn’t complete. It could go on and on. There are so many things I want to do in my lifetime, and despite the fact that five years doesn’t seem like a very long¬†time in the scheme of things, to me it is and I feel like there’s so much I could accomplish. Sure, some of the things on my list are silly and pointless… I mean, how often would I ever use conversational Hindi, and what sport could I actually play?! And some things are subject to change. I mean, I could end up getting a great job within the next few months and I wouldn’t need to go to graduate school. Or I could end up going overseas to teach English for a few years. I don’t know. But I think that’s the whole point of writing out goals… you don’t know where you’ll be, but you know what you want to have done with that time.

What are some of your five-year goals???

 

Proverbs 27:1 “Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring.”

James 4:13-14 ‘Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.’

Jeremiah 29:11¬†“For I know the plans I have¬†for you,” declares the Lord, “plans¬†to prosper you and¬†not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Leave a Reply

