Pineapple Salsa!

Standard

It’s been a few weeks since a recipe post, and you wanna know why? I’ve been too busy to cook and experiment and try new things. So I’ve been sticking to the basics… salads, pasta, sautéed veggies, sweet potatoes, ribs. Yes, ribs are a basic in my family’s house. Maybe I’ll share our rib secret sometime 🙂

Anyways, I love a good salsa. Not the dance but the food group. And yes I consider salsa a food group. I mean, it’s SO versatile and you can add so many different fruits/veggies and it can be sweet, savory, sour, spicy, topped on a taco, eaten with fish and rice, etc. It’s delicious! I think the cilantro is my favorite part of any salsa though 😉 And homemade salsa feels so summery to me.

Let me introduce you to my newest favoritest pineapple salsa recipe!

my ingredients!
((make sure you take the sticker off the peppers and onion. Not that I know from experience or anything..))

Ingredients:

1/4 cup Lawry’s Caribbean Jerk Marinade with papaya juice

1 (20oz.) can pineapple chunks, drained & cut into small pieces

1/2 small red bell pepper, finely chopped 

2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, finely chopped

1/3 cup red onion, finely chopped

1 medium jalapeno pepper, finely chopped

 

Directions:

Combine and enjoy! 

How easy is that?! I bet fresh pineapple instead of canned would taste amazing, and I can’t wait to try this salsa again with one. And heads up- I highly advise adding the cilantro. I’ve made salsa before without it and it just isn’t the same… cilantro is my favorite herb and it’s so fresh that it goes great with so much!

 

YUM

via Instagram

I would love to pair this salsa with some freshly grilled fish (salmon, mahi mahi), some brown rice (or quinoa), and pour the salsa on top… it’s like a Caribbean party on a plate! 🙂 Let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

