May 8th

Standard

Today is personally a big day for quite a few reasons.

*A year ago today I was on a plane heading to Lima, Peru. Well technically I was still waiting in the airport. I remember it so clearly… we were in Miami and the Heat & Celtics game was on every tv at every terminal.  When the Heat kept making their shots and the Celtics kept missing theirs, there were eruptions of cheers all across the airport. Everyone and their brother was cheering for the Heat. And I was cheering for the Celtics. I updated my facebook status one last time before arriving in Lima, “The Miami airport is not the best place for a Celtics fan to be right now.”  I remember being so giddy about boarding the plane, despite the lack of sleep I had, and the heavy carry-ons I was towing. Even after I got on the plane I could hardly sleep… I couldn’t wait for the announcement saying that, “we have landed in Lima, Peru.” 

May 8, 2011 was a date I had looked forward to for so long… God had finally opened the doors for me to go back to Peru, and after two years of absence, I was so ready to go back and serve the people there yet again! May 8, 2011 was the day I returned to the country that holds my heart. And on May 8, 2012 Peru constantly filled my thoughts!

View of Peru as I left a month later, June 8, 2011.


*Today, May 8, 2012 is a big day in the state of North Carolina. It’s voting day… we’re voting for Governor, Superintendent of Public Institution…all that boring stuff. And we’re also voting for or against the Marriage Amendment, stating that marriage can only be legally recognized if it’s between a man and a woman.

I rarely let my voice be heard in the realm of politics, but today I am proud of my vote. I voted FOR the amendment… I believe that marriage is between a man and a woman because God instituted it to be that way. It doesn’t mean I am against gays or lesbians, but I don’t think it’s right for them to “get married”… it’s against God’s Word and it’s sin. That’s just what I believe so you can take it or leave it. I hope my state makes me proud today by standing on Christian principals that our nation was founded on. [My county voted against the amendment. Not so proud to be a Durhamite right now…]

*Today is also an exciting day because I became a Thirty-One consultant! If you want a link to my website, let me know in a comment and I’ll pass it along 🙂 Just in case anyone wants to order anything or book an online party!

And this is totally beside the points above, but as of today I have been teaching my student literacy for 3 months!!! He is doing so well and I am loving it. Also, as of today I have been a college graduate for 5 months. (Sadly, I haven’t seen a lot of my school friends in 5 months as well!) And in two months from now it’s my birthday! Basically, 8 is my current favorite number!

Is today special to you for any reason???

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Friday | findyourway2011

Leave a Reply

