Eggplant Focaccia

Standard

I finally have a new recipe to share with you! This seriously excites me because I’ve been wanting to experiment in the kitchen for a while… and last night I finally got the chance to.

Last week I bought eggplants on sale and had big hopes of making eggplant parmesan (since I’ve heard such great things!) but I never got around to it. Yesterday (Monday) was one of those cold, miserable days, and I really wanted something warm and comforting for dinner. I knew I needed to use up the eggplants so I immediately consulted google for a recipe. Martha Stewart didn’t disappoint- her site was teeming with various recipes to choose from! Honestly, I had never had focaccia before, and was curious to try it. Luckily, I had everything (except the fresh oregano) handy, so after a trip to the grocery store, I had my apron on and was ready to make dinner!

Without further adieu, here is the tried & tested recipe for EGGPLANT FOCACCIA

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium eggplant, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • salt
  • All-purpose flour, for rolling (I used whole-wheat and it worked fine)
  • 1 ball (1 pound) homemade or store-bought pizza dough
  • cornmeal (enough to dust the bottom of a cookie sheet)
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • ~1 cup shredded Swiss cheese
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano

Directions:

  1. In a colander, toss eggplant with 1 1/2 teaspoons salt (I definitely just eye-balled it, who needs measurements?!). Let sit for 30 minutes. Press slices between a double layer of paper towels to dry and set aside.
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees; place a rimless baking sheet or inverted rimmed baking sheet in oven. On a floured surface, roll out dough to 1/2-inch thickness. Sprinkle cornmeal on another baking sheet or inverted rimmed baking sheet or lightweight wooden board; top with dough (you will transfer it onto the preheated sheet to cook).
  3. Brush dough with 3 tablespoons oil and sprinkle with 1/2 cup cheese. Layer on eggplant; top with 3 tablespoons oil, oregano, and 1/2 cup cheese. Let stand 30 minutes. Give sheet a gentle shake to ensure dough isnt sticking.
  4. Carefully remove baking sheet from oven and slide focaccia onto sheet. Return to oven and bake until bottom of focaccia is crispy and edges are golden, 20 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.
I was a little nervous about the finished product (because I had dough issues- very moist and un-rollable) but it turned out great! I loved it. I unashamedly ate half of it, and plan on re-heating the other half for leftovers tomorrow for lunch. I am a crust lover so the thickness of the crust satisfied my craving… the eggplant was delicious (even though I think I mightttt be allergic- tongue started itching. But anyways…)  … and the fresh oregano hit the spot! It’s amazing the difference some herbs make with something as simple as cheese & eggplant! 🙂
Do you have a favorite recipe for eggplant???
Leave a Reply

