The Lucky One

Standard

There’s just something about a good love story that gets me. Yes, I am a hopeless romantic.

I’ve always loved love stories… from classics like Gone with the Wind & Casablanca, to more modern ones like A Walk to Remember & You’ve Got Mail. Simply put, I love love. And the idea of being in love. My hopelessness is becoming more obvious isn’t it? Oops…

Anyways, tonight I joined the crowds of women (and men with their women) and went to an evening showing of Nicholas Sparks’ latest book-turned-movie: The Lucky One.

This was one of his books I actually read before seeing the movie, so I already knew what was going to happen. And although the experience was somewhat spoiled in that sense, I loved every second of the movie. I was so nervous during the war scenes. I laughed. I smiled when Logan (played by Zac Efron) kissed Beth (Taylor Schilling). I was on the edge of my seat at the end (if you’ve read the book or seen the movie, you know why!) And I was in love with their love.

Mr. Sparks knows something about love stories. He knows how to draw you in and keep you there, and despite what tragedies take place in his stories, at the end you always put the book down, or shut off the DVD player feeling satisfied. And in love. I guess you could say it’s a type of cloud nine feeling. And he has perfected it.

I am an unashamed hopeless romantic, and sometimes watching a good love story unfold on the pages of a book or on a movie screen is just what I need. So thank you, Mr. Sparks & Mr. Efron for The Lucky One and its love story.

“Love is the master key that opens the gates of happiness.” -Oliver Wendell Holmes

“Love; it will not betray you dismay or enslave you, it will set you free.” -Mumford & Sons

“One half of me is yours, the other half yours, mine own, I would say; but if mine, then yours, And so all yours.” -The Merchant of Venice; Shakespeare

“A loving heart is the beginning of all knowledge.” – Thomas Carlyle

“At the touch of love, everyone becomes a poet.” -Plato

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.” – Lao Tzu

“Come live in my heart, and pay no rent.” -Samuel Lover

Leave a Reply

