Mediterranean Quinoa

Standard

Saturday night I was hungry. It had been a busy & rainy day and by 7:00pm, all I had eaten was a piece of toast, some bacon, and some oat cookies (recipe later!). Dad was at church cooking, Momma was sick, and I was in need of some sustenance.

Instead of pulling up Pinterest or one of my favorite food blogs, I decided to piddle around the kitchen and create something myself. Of course I’m sure it’s nothing that has never been made before, but I had never had it and I loved it! I also love having a variety of fresh vegetables to choose from 😉

 

Ingredients: 

1/2 cup quinoa

1 can corn, drained

1 stalk of celery, cut into small pieces

1/2 jalapeno, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1/2 orange pepper, diced

a handful of mushrooms, cut into small pieces

feta cheese to top it

olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

juice from 1 lime

I didn't end up using the tomato & cucumber but I did use celery!

Directions:

Prepare quinoa– bring quinoa to boil in 1 cup of water. Reduce heat to low, simmer 10-15 minutes until the water hass all cooked out.

Slice all the vegetables! You can substitute any of those above for any other fresh veggies you have. I just chose a few of my favorites and most colorful ones 🙂

mmmm fresh chopped veggies! (my favorite part of food prep- the chopping!)

In small bowl, whisk together the lime juice, garlic, and as much olive oil as you want to add. I used maybe 1/4 cup…if even that much. Add a dash of salt and your “dressing” is good to go.

In large bowl, mix the quinoa with all the vegetables. On top pour the dressing and stir it all together. Sprinkle it with feta cheese (or dump the feta on there- your choice).

Serve and enjoy!

This recipe I dubbed the title of Mediterranean Quinoa would probably feed two for dinner, but I ended up eating almost all of it on my own! (Remember- first real meal of the day) It was delicious! I loved the crunch that the vegetables added, the almost sweetness from the olive oil, and the mediterranean flavor of the oil paired with the feta.

Next time I might add some carrot, yellow pepper, and cucumber. What can I say, I love colorful dishes!!!

What’s your favorite go-to dinner???

One response »

  1. Pingback: Banana Oat Pancakes | findyourway2011

Leave a Reply

