Finnick

Standard

((( 5 bonus points if you can correctly identify the source of his name )))

 

I’ve been wanting a fish for a while now. Blame it on the childish Meredith or blame it on the caring, nurturing Meredith.  ((( 10 bonus points if you blame the latter! )))

 

Saturday as it was monsooning in Durham, I ventured out to run a few errands. Nothing like waiting for the busiest, nastiest day to be driving & seen out in public.

 

First stop? Best Buy for the Hunger Games soundtrack. Don’t judge until you’ve listened. Trust me.

Second stop? Old Navy to return some impulse buys and get $34 back 🙂

Third stop? Target. Skirt, sandal, short, weight, cleaning, candy, veggie & bathroom shopping all in one place. Success.

Fourth stop? PETCO. Where the healthy pets go! And, where they come out with a new owner 🙂

Meet, Finnick.

He’s a Veiltail Betta and is a handsome royal blue color. Took me a while to pick him out (I was like a kid in a candy store) but I knew he was the right one. Plus, his colors contrasted nicely with the purple gravel & “plant” I chose.

I’ll be honest and admit that it’s been years since I’ve had to prepare a bowl & water for a fish. I think the last family fish we had died back in 2005. Dad claims the fish lived for all 6 years we had him but I never thought goldfish were supposed to live that long…

Anyways, I followed the step-by-step instructions (since I love lists and all) to ensure the cleanest & friendliest environment possible for my little guy.

 

First, I rinsed the bowl, the gravel & the decoration.

Then, I carefully put about an inch of the clean gravel in the bottom of the bowl. I nestled the plant down in it and admired the cute little home.

I filled up the bowl with water. This was the harder part because it needed to be room temperature. I’m bad at judging with those sorts of things, so I used semi-warm water. I let it sit out on the counter for a good 10-15 minutes hoping it would get more “room temperature-ish”.

I then dropped a few drops of the water cleaning solution into the bowl.

I added a little bit of the bowl water into his little plastic bowl so as to get him acclimated to the water.

Then, into the bowl he went!

After carefully carrying the heavy bowl into my room and placing it on top of my bookcase, I fed him a few pellets of food.

I then proceeded to take dozens of pictures of him trying to get a decent one to facebook & tweet. Just call me fish lady.

I’ll admit that this handsome little guy was in my life (and room- ooh la la!) for a few hours before I dubbed him Finnick. I was given a few name suggestions- Bob, Sebastian, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish (Blue Fish for short)… but being the nerd I am, I wanted a more literary name… hence Finnick.

Using the fishbowl setting on my camera

What name would you have chosen for this Betta???

4 responses »

  1. Such a cute fish! We had a beta for about a year and a half and when he died, you would have thought it was a family member. I was hysterical. I LOVE the name, so fitting!!! My fish was “Sir Francis II” 🙂

  2. Pingback: On Being Wanted | findyourway2011

Leave a Reply

