Stuffed Poblano Peppers

Standard

One whiff or bite of these stuffed peppers and you will be in love. I speak the truth.

Dinner for one

I have had a longtime love of Mexican food, anything spicy, and black beans… combine all these together and mmm… qué riquísimo!

 

A friend from work introduced me to a food blog that he and his wife write: The Vital Table. Go check it out. But not right now- I’m about to share their Stuffed Poblano recipe they posted back in January!

Last month, I was home alone on a Saturday (dad on business trip, bro with his friends, mom working) and after I debated back and forth for a while about what to make for dinner, I decided on these stuffed peppers. And boy oh boy am I so glad I tried them out! I had to modify the recipe a little since I was making dinner for one, but I used 2 peppers which was a plenty for dinner and leftovers the next day! 😉

Here’s the recipe I used:


Ingredients

1 28-ounce can of whole tomatoes in puree (I used tomatoes w/ jalapeño peppers)

1 jalapeño chile, minced (I used 1 1/2!)

2 small onions, chopped

3 cloves of garlic (2 whole, 1 minced)

salt & fresh ground black pepper

1 15-ounce can of black beans, rinsed and drained

1 cup yellow cornmeal

1 cup shredded pepper jack cheese

1 tsp ground cumin

4 large poblano chilies, halved lengthwise (stems left intact), ribs and seeds removed

Directions

-Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

-In a blender, combine tomatoes in puree, jalapeño, half the onions, and 2 whole garlic cloves; puree. Season with salt.

my ingredients

-Pour sauce into a 9×13 baking dish; set aside.

-In a medium bowl, combine beans, cornmeal, 1/2 cup cheese, remaining onions, minced garlic, cumin, and 3/4 cup water; season with salt and pepper.

-Dividing evenly, stuff poblano halves with bean mixture; place on top of sauce in baking dish. Sprinkle poblanos with remaining 1/2 cup cheese; cover baking dish tightly with aluminum foil.

before

-Bake until poblanos are tender, about 45 minutes. Uncover, and continue to cook until sauce is thickened slightly and cheese is browned, 10 to 15 minutes more. Let cool 10 minutes.

after

IT IS SO HARD TO WAIT THE 10 MINUTES FOR THESE TO COOL!!! 

I actually have made these twice and they have turned out delicious both times. I love the flavor of the sauce- I add a lot of jalapeño and garlic and it’s just so so good. And then the black beans and cornmeal mixture? YUM. It’s different than anything I’ve had before.

I paired it with tortilla chips and my favorite Wholly salsa 🙂

In fact, I’m having some leftovers for lunch today 😉

Is it lunch time yet????????? 

 

Do you follow any food blogs??? What is your favorite recipe you found online???

One response »

  1. Pingback: Banana Oat Pancakes | findyourway2011

Leave a Reply

