Foster’s

Standard

If you’ve ever been to Durham and you’re cool, then you’ve probably been to Foster’s Market. I apparently am not cool because I’ve lived here my whole life and just recently been introduced to Foster’s.

Today I had a date with Brittany (not this one) but this one. Our initial plans failed so we went to plan B, and again that fell through so we ended up at Foster’s. Best decision of the day! 

We decided to split two sandwiches so we chose the Fresh Mozzarella deli sandwich and the Grilled Portabella Panini. Second best decision of the day.

Fresh Mozzarella sandwich

Portabella Panini

I’m telling ya- these sandwiches sooo delicious! The Mozzarella was so fresh and the roasted red peppers on it added a different flavor that I really liked. The balsamic vinaigrette spread on the bread of course just made me love the sandwich even more. (I’m obsessed with balsamic- didn’t you know?) Seriously, that sandwich was a great choice!

Now for the Portabella Panini…. I think you just need to go try it for yourself. I love mushrooms of any kind and I’ve been discovering that portabellas are a great substitute for meat in any dish. Yes I am just discovering this… apparently it’s common knowledge! Topped with grilled onions, spinach and provolone cheese (and balsamic vinaigrette!) on a delicious focaccia roll… mmm… how could it not be a favorite of mine?! I went through about 62 napkins but that’s another story.

Brittany is one of those friends that I can sit for hours with talking about everything… living under the same roof as your parents and teenage brother, job dilemmas, healthy food, guys, music, movies, books… we spent nearly 4 hours talking about EVERYTHING this afternoon, and we still could talk for hours. That’s what good friends are for.

We decided that after sitting for so long, that dessert was necessary. And because we were torn on making a decision, Brittany and I decided to each get a different piece of cake and split them! Third best decision of the day.

German Chocolate Cake

Carrot Cake

Coffee and cake...great combo!

Goofball

If I told you I ate my half of both pieces, you might say I was a fatty. So I won’t tell you that. I’ll just say that I have a half of cake sitting in the fridge waiting for me to finish eating it 😉

Goofy self-timer picture

If you’ve ever been to Durham and you’re cool, then you’ve probably been to Foster’s Market. I apparently am not cool because I’ve lived here my whole life and just recently been introduced to Foster’s. But I think now that I’ve been and taken pictures of the new things I’ve tried, I can officially say that I’m cool. Have you been to Foster’s???

 

 

*Read Brittany’s post about our outing here!*

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Parking Lots & Other Sunday Moments.. « girlmeetscamera

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites | findyourway2011

Leave a Reply

