Lunchtime

Standard

Today I did something that I always have great intentions of doing but hardly ever do- I brought my lunch.

Makes me feel like I’m back in elementary, middle or high school. My lunchbox was packed to the brim with breakfast [whole grain toast w/ peanut butter], snacks, and lunch. However it was incomplete as I did not have an ice pack. Lunchbox fail.

In an attempt to eat healthier, cheaper, and homemade, I made my lunch!

I will call it… Balsamic Pasta Salad. Because that’s basically what it is.

Ingredients:

baby arugula

whole wheat penne pasta

can of chick peas

4 sun-dried tomatoes, chopped

salt & pepper to taste

balsamic vinegar

extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

Boil pasta for 6-7 minutes or until al dente.

Drain, and rinse in cold water.

In large bowl, toss a few cups of the arugula with the pasta, tomatoes, and chick peas.

Lightly (or generously) season with salt & pepper.

Add a tablespoon or two of the balsamic & EVOO until everything is coated.

[I LOVE Balsamic so I added a ton]

Toss again and voila! You have a Balsamic Pasta Salad.

I kind of eye-balled everything as I hardly ever measure unless I’m baking. Oops???  But it did make enough for lunch today for two- Padre and me!

His verdict? “Very tasty, but I would add fresh tomatoes.”

My verdict? “The sun-dried tomatoes are very tart compared to the rest of the flavors, so I would hold off on those. And possibly try it with mushrooms and fresh tomatoes. I will be making this a next time for sure! 🙂 ” And yes when I said this to myself after trying the pasta, a smiley face was included!

In addition to my pasta salad, I packed a sliced apple, yellow pepper, a Luna bar ( Chocolate Dipped Coconut!), some craisins, peach yogurt, and a little baggie of goldfish to satisfy the elementary school Meredith. I have only eaten half of the goodness inside my lunchbox but I still have a few more hours at work to finish the rest 😉   I would say that all that preparation last night for today was successful… my belly is full, my wallet is still full, and I feel good. And I’ve already had four bottles of water (and two cups of coffee) so it’s been a great day!

Want to make Monday’s even better? Go here and donate. You won’t regret it.

Happy Monday everyone!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Foster’s | findyourway2011

Leave a Reply

