Freshman Year Flashback

Standard

Winter has official hit the Raleigh//Durham area.

An icy cold rain started this morning and kept up pretty much all day. It was one of those cold rains that freezes you to the core and numbs your hands. One of those cold rains that holds the promise of snow.

And snow, it did. This February 19.

After the temperature finally got low enough, the sleet started coming down. Then, hours later it turned to snow.

I have never been blessed to live in a part of the country where it snows multiple times a year, month, week, or day. Down here in the South, we’re lucky if we even see snow once a year.

Needless to say, when I found out that snow was in the forecast tonight, I was beyond ecstatic. I mean, what 21-year old doesn’t like to go out and play in the snow?! Oh… I’m the only one??? ….

The short-lived snow tonight reminded me of freshman year of college when it snowed on March 1st. Of course, in upstate South Carolina, none of us expected it to snow that late in the season. So, were we prepared? Nope. But we managed with what we had. READ: We went to my local friends’ house and camped out for the three days school was cancelled. BEST SNOW DAYS EVER! It was so much fun.

Reminiscing on those sweet snow-filled memories of freshman year tonight brought many a smile to my face, and a little bit of sadness to my heart. I hardly ever talk to these two girls anymore. One is overseas teaching, and the other is engaged and working full-time in her hometown. Getting older and moving on is hard. But thank goodness for facebook and the pictures that survive, even if friendships don’t!

Thrilled to be off-campus and have SNOW!

It took all the strength we could muster to get the bottom of the snowman rolled up!

The finished product, day #2

L, A & me

2 responses »

  1. This is such a sweet flashback. I love the way you write! Still keeping my fingers crossed that it will snow more tonight and classes will be cancelled tomorrow!

  2. Pingback: Freshman Year Flashback « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

