Hometown Gems

Standard

It may come as no surprise to y’all that I love my hometown. I say this on a daily basis.

One of the things I LOVE about my hometown (Durham) is that I am constantly discovering new places or restaurants or opportunities to get involved in the community. And I am thankful for a friend who helps introduce me to such places!!! πŸ™‚ Shout-out Brittany!

Last Friday I had the day off and plans to do some bargain shopping with Britt. We started off our adventures at Kohl’s and ended up getting froyo nearly 5 hours later.

New local restaurant I learned about: POMEGRANATE KITCHEN

-basically this Persian woman from Iran cooks out of a one-room kitchen in a small space. You walk in, order off the menu (there are about 10 items to choose from!) and voila! She prepares your food and you make smalltalk. Only I could talk more than smalltalk with her! Once I found out where she was from I was intrigued. Then I was interested. Then I was talkative, as was she. She let us try black bean pate and some kind of diced olives. I am not an olive fan, but oh my these were so good!

Anyways, Britt and I split brunch: lentil rice and pomegranate soup.

Another local gem: STRAW VALLEY CAFE

We sipped iced chai lattes while sitting in the sunshine and eating our brunch. Then we proceeded to take lots of pictures of us goofing off! I love Straw Valley (and haven’t even shared pics from previous ventures!) and it is a great place to study and sip coffee. Durhamites, try it out! πŸ™‚

(of course I didn’t get any pics of myself with my camera, hah!)

New froyo place: MOONBERRIES

Froyo is froyo but this place had flavors I had never seen! I got Lavender Honey. Weird, huh?! Paired it with Pineapple and topped it with some cookie dough, granola, coconut, and those squishy things. Yum-o. I wasn’t even hungry and I downed that froyo! Perfect ending to a fun day with Britt!

What are some of your hometown gems that you love?

One response »

  1. Ahhhhh! I love this post!! I had SO much fun! And you can totally feel free to snag the photos of you from my blog! (I’ll probably be saving the images of me on here lol. Love ya!) PS: yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay Duke!

Leave a Reply

