Two Visits and a Discovery

Standard

Wednesday. I am so glad you are over. You have been one long day! You were rainy and dreary, but I loved every second of the wet weather you offered. (Although I was inside the majority of the day) I spent 8 1/2 hours at work, then left early (3:00) for a doctor’s appointment. Of course my appointment was at 3:30 and I didn’t leave the waiting room until 4:15! Good thing I didn’t have plans afterwards…

Anyways, the appointment went well. Doctor’s appointments are always awkward for me. Especially when she asks the inevitable questions: “Are you sexually active?” “Have you ever been sexually active?” “Do you plan on being sexually active anytime soon?”

My answers are always the same: “No.” “No.” “No.” 

It’s always so awkward for me to answer those questions because I know my answers are not the norm for most 21 year olds. In fact, probably not the norm for anyone over the age of 13! Ridiculous, yes. Then when she asked when I plan on being sexually active my answer caught her off guard I know. “My wedding night.”

Why is it that so many people give up the precious purity they possess in order to satisfy some sexual or hormonal desires? Why not wait to share this gift with the one you’ll spend the rest of your life with?!

Sorry, stepping off my soap box now. It’s just something that tugs at my heart in our society.

The rest of the appointment went by even more awkwardly. Ladies, you will understand me on this one.

 

From there I went and picked my dad up and we headed to see my grandma in the nursing home.

 

It was a bittersweet visit, as usual. She repeats the same things over and over, complains about the “lulus” that live there, and says she misses her cat. That darn cat.

We stayed an hour and then walked her to the dining room where we said our goodbyes. I’m going to bake some cookies tomorrow and take them to her 🙂

Lastly, some days, a little discovery can brighten your day. Like discovering a black marker for the dry erase board behind your desk. I doodled a bit because I was the only one in the office. I’m no artist at all but it was fun/ny squiggling around on the board. Of course I took a few pics of my silly 5 minute break 😉

 

I’m a HUGE goober. I know. I’m not ashamed.

had to include a lyric from a song I listened to at work 🙂

How was your Wednesday? Any awkward meet-ups or fun little discoveries?

One response »

  1. EVERY TIME we relocate I have to answer those questions at the girly visits. Every time they always seem shocked when I say that I’ve only had one partner, and that I’m his only partner. Usually they make a point to tell me that it’s the first time they’ve heard that in 10 or 20 years. It’s very sad indeed.

Leave a Reply

