Puzzling

Standard

There’s just something about a puzzle.

I love doing puzzles.

I love the planning, the piecing together, and the pictures.

In the past week I’ve done 4 1,000-piece jigsaw puzzles from the Hometown Collection.

First you have to open the box and pull the bag full of pieces out.

This step is exciting in itself because it’s brand new. It’s like embarking on a journey…you don’t know how long it’s going to take or how many steps it will involve, but you know eventually that you’ll get there. A puzzle is like life.

Totally random and obscure, I know.

The next step in putting together a puzzle is the sorting. As I sorted these pieces out I chose to sort the outside pieces, the building pieces, the pumpkins, the flowers, the sky, the green. It took forever to sort all 1,000 pieces but sorting them out like this really sped along the rest of the puzzling.


I kind of related that to my everyday life. Planning, although it takes time and effort, makes things go by much more quickly and smoothly. Something as simple as planning my outfit for work the night before, packing my lunch, or planning a grocery list is so helpful!

After the sorting comes the fun part: the assembly!

Outside pieces always come first; they are the foundation to the puzzle. Without them, you can’t “stay in the lines” so to speak. They’re the guidelines to the rest of the puzzle. I kind of related this in my life to my faith, but it could be anything- a job, family, education. Without putting God first and as a barrier to everything else in my life, it’s all waste. He is the foundation and the cornerstone of not only my faith but also my life. Again, random and obscure, but bear with me.

Once you slowly piece the puzzle pieces together, you have your final product; your masterpiece, so to speak. All the hard work and patience paid off and you have a great piece of art.

I compared this to the events that happen in life to make you into a better person. From something as small as getting your driver’s license, experiencing a first kiss, learning how to play the piano, to something bigger such as graduating from college, getting married, or having to bury a beloved family member. All these things and stories come together to make a work of art.

Clearly (or maybe not as clearly to you), putting together a puzzle and living out a life are complicated. They take a lot of work and you have to deal with good and bad, but in the end it’s all worth it.

So, in the past week as I’ve been assembling all these different puzzles I’ve been thinking a lot about the puzzle that is my life. I’ve already accomplished some big things but I’m still waiting for what’s next. I see some of the finished product of my life, and although some parts have been messy, some sad, some amazing, and some tough, it’s coming together to become a beautiful picture of what I hope can reflect Jesus. I want a life that reflects His love.

2 Corinthians 3:18  But we all, with unveiled face beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are transformed into the same image from glory to glory, even as from the Lord the Spirit

2 Corinthians 4:16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Finding Your Way « Find Your Way

Leave a Reply

